Uncategorized

My Disney Pin Collection

Hi Everyone


Today I’ll be showing you a my Disney pin collection. I left my Primark pins from this collection but I definitely think I’ll be putting them into a separate post – they just bulk my collection up so much I thought I’d leave them out for now. 


Just a quick note before I begin … I’m thinking about stepping up how many posts I do a week (maybe 2/3? a week?) so I you see a couple more posts pop up this week, that’s why! If you want to know when a post is going live, follow me on Twitter or Instagram 😀

Other than that, let’s get on with the post!

My First Ever Pins


I first went to Disney in November 2006 and before then I had never even heard about Disney pins – I didn’t even know they were a thing! So, when I went into the Hotel shop I was overwhelmed with how many of them there are. 

I have always been a big Princess fan, so of course I got as many Princess pins as possible. I purchased a pink Disney Princess lanyard which came with two Cinderella pins and two Aurora pins (Top left and middle bottom). 

After I got this, I decided to go ahead and buy as many princesses as I could possibly find. As you can see, I wasn’t incredibly successful but at the time I really thought I had splurged! Aurora was my all time favourite at the time so I was really happy to have found her. I really wanted a Belle pin, but the only one I could find was of her and the Beast (which I wasn’t best pleased about) but I got it anyway because I wanted a collection of my favourites.


The Woody pin is from my brother, he brought a Toy Story lanyard which had two Buzzs and two Woodys – and seeing as he had one spare, he gave it to me. 

Finally, the two Minnie pins. I picked up the red “heart” Minnie first and immediately wanted it, but then 9 year old me saw the Minnie in the dress and thought she looked so beautiful that I had to pick her up – I ended up not being able to decide between the two 😂 I had a green canvas messenger bag from Tchibo at the time (who remembers Tchibo???) that i pinned the both two so I could carry them around with me all the time. 


If I was to pick these pins now, I definitely wouldn’t choose these as i’m not really the biggest fan of any of them! But they definitely make me feel nostalgic.  

My “insert phase here” pins


These three pins I purchased when I visited the parks during very specific “phases” in my life. As a child, I had several periods of time where I obsessed over a certain film or character for weeks – sometimes even months – on end. 


I don’t know whether you can see, but the Minnie Mouse in the top left is dressed in a High School Musical Wildcats’ cheerleader outfit. I used to have a stuffed medium sized plush of this also! I brought this in 2008 – at this point I was well and truly obsessed with High School Musical and definitely felt as if I needed to pick it up!

The other two pins were purchased during my Disney trip in 2010. The Eve pin was one of a set that my brother bought. Again, at this point both of us were obsessed with Wall-E and Eve and he kindly gave me this Eve pin, knowing how much I liked her 😊

Finally, this Hannah Montana pin I purchased for myself, I believe this was brought out after the movie was released. I have never since seen a pin for Hannah Montana so I guess this is a collectors item?? But i don’t imagine many people would want to “collect” it, though… 






Special Occasion and Location Pins


These few pins are among my most favourites – especially the Small World Pin. I just think it’s so ornate and a very well made pin. 


I visited the park during the 15th Anniversary in 2008 which was by far my most favourite Anniversary the park has ever had. I just think the colours they went for, the decorations, the cross over character styles they had (e.g. Stitch and the Tower of Terror Merch) and the parade and song were all incredibly well done – in my opinion, the 20th and 25th don’t come close to how well the 15th was celebrated. I’m very glad I have this pin to commeroate the occasion (although, the spike on the back of the pin has fallen off because it was too small to hold the weight of the pin when it was on my lanyard. 


I can’t say I’m sure what the Disney Princess pin was in aid of (!) but I do think it is very pretty and pink – and as I say, I love Disney Princesses 😊

As far as I’m aware, the Disneyland Hotel Pin was their first “hotel” style pin – before they started with the larger pins with keys… Although, as I’m writing this, I don’t know whether it was that they had started doing the keys for the other hotels and were yet to do one for the Disney hotel… either way they definitely didn’t have the pins they have now when we got this! I don’t know whether in some ways I prefer it? Is that controversial???

Miscellaneous Pins

`These are the pins I have just randomly picked up in the parks. The Minnie Purse pin was my latest pin from Disney – I didn’t buy any pins in 2017! You can open it up to see inside Minnie’s purse (below).


My Official Pins That Were Not Brought In the Parks


Ironically, this is one of my biggest collections, the latest edition being the Pirate stitch pin. My Aunt was having a clear out and found this Stitch and asked me if I wanted it. I think he is definitely one of my favourites. 

My other more recent pin is the Cinderella pin. When we went on our last trip, I helped plan the surprise for my cousins – we made a little treasure hunt where they had to collect different objects hidden around the house. Then, once they came back, they had to make a note of the first letter of each thing which would spell out “Disneyland Paris” (i.e. if they found a dinosaur, they would write down D, and an they would have put “e” for an elephant). It sounds quite complicated but we had to throw them off the sent due to the surprises for Disney we have done in the past! Once they solved the puzzle, they were given a small present with a pin inside to confirm that we are going. My grandma didn’t want to leave me out, so she gave me this Cinderella pin. 

The image changes when you move it!


The rest of the pins I was gifted at Christmases and birthdays from my family. I remember being very chuffed when I opened the Jasmine pin. 


These next two pins are brand new to my collection. The Genie Lamp pin was something my mom picked up for me when we were down in London last November – we went to see Aladdin the musical in the West End for my 21st and we thought this pin was incredibly apt momento for the trip. 

We picked up the Disney pictures pin in Birmingham in the boxing day sales – this pin makes me feel very nostalgic to when I used to watch my Disney VHS’s. I used to love the old Disney titles – I don’t know about you but it always felt so magical when the logo came on the screen. 

Image result for disney logo gif
🐹🐹🐹 

What’s your favourite pin that you own? Let me know in the comments…

Until next time!

Beth 

🐹🐹🐹

Leave a comment