Disney

10 Things That Remind Me of Disneyland Paris

As quite a sentimental person, I often find myself reminded of fond memories on a regular basis, as my brain attempts to reconjure up happy experiences, so over the years I have discovered there are some very specific things that transport me directly back to the parks, be that to my very first trip or my most recent. I have compiled a list and listed them below in the hope that maybe this will bring up happy memories of trips to the parks that you may have forgotten about.

Ratatouille' Review: 2007 Movie | Hollywood Reporter

Ratatouille

I first watched this film in April 2008 after receiving the DVD as an Easter gift. This was a couple of years after my trip to Disney, however the distinct Parisian theme and distinct soundtrack really transported me back to my trip.

Now with the addition of the Ratatouille themed area of the Studios park, this is reinforced even further (particularly as this is now my most favourite ride… if you haven’t had a chance to experience this for yourself, it is a must!)

The Smell of Vanilla

Anyone that has visited the Disneyland Paris Hotel will be very familiar with the distinct fragrance of the main foyer. Love it or hate it, many have this smell synonymous with their Disney trip. Whilst you can only buy the fragrance from the Hotel shop (and for a whopping price tag!), the signature “Mary Poppins Fragrance” has hints of vanilla and sandalwood, so any perfume or candle that I come across with these notes will automatically get me to say: “that reminds me of Disney!”

Carol of the Bells / It Came Upon a Midnight Clear

Most of my trips to Disney have fallen during the Christmas season, so needless to say I have heard the Disney Christmas loop several times over the years and these two songs are one of the tracks that take me right back to my visits. If you didn’t know, during the festive season, Main Street USA periodically has a snow fall which comes hand in hand with the start of Carol of the Bells. If you are ever shopping on Main Street USA and hear this song start, stick your head out onto the street to see the snow falling from the sky – it is so magical 😍

I had not previously heard “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear” before I went to Disney and now I find the track synonymous with my trips – particularly this very specific version, which I managed to find after years (literally) looking 🀩:

Disney Channel - Wikipedia

Disney Channel

Anyone else not have access to Disney Channel when they were younger? I feel you, sister. I personally was able to watch shows like Hannah Montana and Suite Life by buying the DVD box sets. The only other way I was able to watch was in the Disney Hotels which all grant you access to Disney Channel! (This was literally the icing on the cake for me when I was younger – given the chance, I probably would have stayed in and watched Disney Channel all day, rather than go to the parks ironically 🀣)

I distinctly remember my trip in 2008 when they were constantly advertising the upcoming DCOM, Camp Rock, with the song “We Rock” on repeat every ad break. Then a few years later the final season of Hannah Montana was airing, so I managed to catch a couple of these episodes. Finally, my last trip was airing KC Undercover. Whilst I am slightly out of the age bracket for Disney Channel now, I really enjoyed this – very underrated! Zendaya definitely makes the show.

The Statue of Liberty

A completely random one (anything to remind me of Disney!) However, if you’ve been down the Arcades on Main Street, you may have noticed the sign depicting when the Statue of Liberty was first built. Fun fact: The Statue of Liberty was a gift from France to the USA (hence why they made a feature of it in Paris!). This fun fact actually helped me out when doing a quiz last week – who says Disney is not educational?!

Another fun fact: the statue of liberty was not actually bluey/green when first constructed. It was actually bronze and the air has oxidized it over time! (Not really related to this blog post but I love a good #funfact πŸ˜‚)

Hot Dogs

Okay, I really think we’re getting into random territory here, but anyone who has gone to any Disney park knows Casey Jr’s Hot Dog shop on Main Street! Whenever I eat hot dogs or see them about, they always remind me of the parks.

Candyfloss

One of the things on my bucket list when I was about 13 was to try Candyfloss, and where better to try than in Disneyland Paris? We had ours from La Confiserie des Trois FΓ©es (The Three Fairies’ Confectionary Shop to you and me) When heading through the castle, it is the shop located in the castle cortyard on your right. Because we were waiting quite a while they made them absouletely GINORMOUS!

This is my little 5 year old cousin with the candyfloss – her little face when it was handed to her! Clearly we were all unable to finish the entire sugar monstrosity (we had one each this size!) but it was certainly a treat! 😁

Star Wars

Growing up with a younger brother I was inevitably going to encounter Star Wars at some point. When I was younger I used to “endure” the movies, living just for Padme (I wanted her hair and outfits). However, after going on the Star Tours ride I suddenly found a new appreciation for the franchise. Now, whenever I see anything Star Wars – related, it’s a friendly reminder to me of my many enjoyable visits to this ride.

Overcast, Rainy-ish Days

Don’t get me wrong, I love a sunny day as much as the next person, nevertheless whenever it starts to get a bit chilly with overcast days, with just an inkling of rain, this reminds me of my Disney trips. Surprisingly, Marne-La-Vallee’s weather is not too far off UK’s famous reputation as far as weather is concerned, with 80% of our days in the parks clouded by sub zero temperatures and rainy days. Armed with raincoats and many, many, many layers, we didn’t let that stop us from making the most of the park! So whenever I am out and about during similar weather conditions it automatically reminds me of strolling through the studios and warming up with a nice hot chocolate.

March of the Cards from Alice in Wonderland & Happy Ending in Agrabah from Aladdin

Not one for roller coasters, I really enjoy the immersive rides and attractions in the park that make you feel like you are “in” the movie. Two of the attractions in Paris are Alice’s Curious Labyrinth in Fantasyland and Aladdin’s Walkthrough in Adventureland. Being a huge Aladdin fan, the walk through is genuinely one of my most favourite things (last trip I ended up going through about four times). I know it’s boring, but is there anything better than listening to the Aladdin soundtrack and then turning the corner to see Aladdin and Jasmine flying over Agrabah, with hundreds of little fairy lights?

Both of these tracks are distinctive in my brain with these rides and are actually songs I listen on a regular basis to remind me of these attractions.

⭐

What about you; is there anything that transports you back to the parks? Big or small, random or very specific, there are so many things that can take you back to happy trips to the parks. Let me know in the comments if you find memories in the most random of things!

Until next time,

Beth

Leave a comment