BTS, Music

DAECHWITA (대취타)

So, Yoongi of BTS dropped a new MV alongside a new mixtape…

There I was casually WFH when I noticed that a new music video had dropped on Big Hit’s YouTube channel. We, of course, have been anticipating a new announcement today following the countdown images that have been released for about six days, each day slightly less blurred than the rest. Late Thursday evening we received a brand new image on the Agust D page on Apple Music that basically confirmed an upcoming mixtape from Yoongi.

Needless to say, on Friday when the MV, song and mixtape were all dropped at the same time I was #shook

First of all, lets talk about the song itself. Now, I will be honest, whilst I do swap between many genres when listening to music, hip-hop is not something I always gravitate towards in terms of songs I listen to on a regular basis, so it did take a little while for this song to grow on me. Now I am OBSESSED. I have been listening to the entire mixtape whilst DIY-ing in the garden and I am loving the whole album. My personal favourites are: Burn It, People, What Do You Think?, and of course, Daechwita.

Going back to Daechwita, when listening to any “Kpop” song, I think it is extremely important to look up the translation of the lyrics because the song definitely hits completely differently once you know the true meaning. There is a LOT to analyse in the lyrics, which I won’t necessarily go into now, however check out this link if you want to read more: https://genius.com/Genius-english-translations-agust-d-daechwita-english-translation-lyrics

To summarise, there is a lot going on behind these lyrics, mainly portraying Yoongi’s take on different aspects of his life and media perception.

I personally love the song’s influences, with Yoongi’s modern take on his culture’s music. This for me really brings a sense of authenticity and beauty to the song, which brings me in quite nicely to the music video.

Warning: if you are sensitive to slightly violent imagery, there is suggestion of this in the video. However, if I can make it through the video without turning it off, I can assure you that you will be fine. (I am the biggest wuss when it comes to violence 😂🙈).

Agust D Daechwita GIF - AgustD Daechwita MusicVideo - Discover ...

Much like the song’s lyrics, there is a LOT to unpack from this music video.

Firstly, let’s start with the meaning of Daechwita. Daechwita is defined as a traditional style of Korean music. This consists of wind and percussion instruments played together to create a military style of music, generally accompanied by marching.

With the obvious Korean heritage themeing in the video, this inspiration is carried throughout the music video.

According to one Twitter user, Yoongi has three distinctive looks in the MV, which they suggested applies to his three personas, SUGA, AGUST D and Min Yoongi.

Personally, I could only spot two looks and I think these represent his authentic self and his persona (much like Shadow).

This feels to me very much an elaboration on Shadow and themes introduced in the MOTS:7 song, however battling the theme deeper, with a hit of UGH! and Ddaeng.

(If you want to read an in depth analysis frame by frame, click here: https://aminoapps.com/c/btsarmy/page/blog/daechwita-mv-analysis/V0bQ_g0Vf7ub2dXdJgRreNeqDV5rYVr0JQ)

We got a Jungkook and Jin cameo! (I will admit that I missed this the first time round… 🙈🙈🙈).

Xem MV 'Daechwita' (Agust D - Suga BTS) để biết cả nhà Big Hit ...

Apparently Yoongi practiced for two days straight to get the sword choreo down 😮

daechwita edit | Explore Tumblr Posts and Blogs | Tumgir

As we know from Agust-D 1, Agust-D is Yoongi / SUGA’s slightly more “aggressive” alter ego, with a lot of this MV demonstrating this, alongside a lot of the songs on the mixtape. Personally, I feel like there was a lot less aggression on this mixtape than the previous one but I am willing to be proven wrong!

What are your thoughts? Personally I am obsessed; particularly with all the theories that have been going up online. Let me know in the comments any of your favourites.

Until next time,

Beth

Leave a comment